Cookin'

My 김치 Kimchi & 반찬 Banchan Recipe


Hi guys, I’m into making Kimchi these days. My first intention was just to clear my stash of Korean chili flakes and anchovy sauce I bought from Korea during my trip – South Korea 13D12N. But now, it turned out to be a fun to make and at the same time tiring business to get rid of excess Kimchi too. So sharing it with friends is a very good option expecially to people who also love Kimchi!

After many great feedbacks from all my lovely friends who ate the different batches of kimchi I made, I’m posting this in favour of the many who requested the recipe. As you know, there are so many Kimchi varieties in the world with each one having no fixed recipe to seasoning and everyone adds their own touch to making it so here’s my very own version. As I make these Kimchi out of my memory from the better tasting Kimchi I ate in Korea and some helpful tips from a Korean chef I know of, I’m going to try my best to take down the exact amount of each kimchi ingredient next round I make it again. So meanwhile, please bare with me and see just the list of ingredients at the moment. I have also included some of my favourite banchan too. Enjoy!

깍두기 KKAKDUGI – Diced Daikon Kimchi

깍두기 KKAKDUGI Ingredients Required
무 Daikon (Radish)
파 Scallion
마늘 Garlic
양파 Onion
고추가루 Korean Chili Flakes
멸치액젓 Korean Anchovy Sauce
야쿠르트 1 bottle Yogurt drink
Sugar
Coarse Salt
Fine Salt

맛김치 MAK KIMCHI – Cut Napa Cabbage Kimchi

맛김치 MAK KIMCHI Ingredients Required
배추 Napa Cabbage
무 Daikon
당근 Carrot
파 Scallion
마늘 Garlic
양파 Onion
생강 Ginger
배 Korean Pear
고추가루 Korean Chili Flakes
멸치액젓 Korean Anchovy Sauce
새우젓 Korean Fermented Shrimp
찹쌀가루 Sweet Glutinous Rice Flour
Sugar
Coarse Salt
Fine Salt

오징어채 무침
오징어채 무침 OJINGGEOCHAE MUCHIM – Seasoned Dried Squid

오징어채 무침 OJINGGEOCHAE MUCHIM Ingredients Required
오징어채 Dried Shredded Squid
참깨 Sesame Seeds
고추장 Korean Hot Chili Paste
꿀 Honey
Fine Sea Salt

물김치 MUL KIMCHI – Napa Cabbage with Red Radish Water Kimchi in Pink Broth (Non-spicy)

물김치 MUL KIMCHI Ingredients Required
배추 Napa Cabbage
파 Scallion
배 Korean Pear
Red Radish (a handful)
식초 White Vinegar
Water / Broth
Sugar
Coarse Salt
Fine Salt

오이무침 OI MUCHIM – Seasoned Cucumber

오이무침 OI MUCHIM Ingredients Required
오이 Cucumber
당근 Carrot
참깨 Sesame Seeds
고추가루 Korean Chili Flakes
식초 White Vinegar
참기름 Sesame Oil
Sugar
Coarse Salt
Fine Salt

Studio_20150903_162800
우엉볶음 WOEONG BOKKEUM – Stir Fry Shredded Burdock

우엉볶음 WOEONG BOKKEUM Ingredients Required
우엉 Burdock Root
Mirin
Light Soy Sauce
Dark Soy Sauce
Sugar

Leave a comment

