Eat

Swatow Teochew Seafood Restaurant Dim Sum


Visited on 31/07/2013

♥♥ Deep Fried Mango and Prawn Roll

This dish is so well executed by the chefs. The mango selected was soft and juicy with the plump prawn meats in whole, the combination is a perfect result. The sesame seeds coated added an extra oomph to the sweet flavours.

image

This is Swatow Teochew Seafood Restaurant, that offers Dim Sum for morning breakfast and also afternoon Dim Sum buffet. There are mains like roast meats, various seafoods and other selections of cooked foods for order too. Don’t forget to catch the deal on 1 for 1 on braised shark fin’s in claypot (No offense to people who disagrees to eating shark fin, protecting the extinction and hunt of sharks cruelly.)

image

The fare for the day. Shared between me and a friend.

image

♥♥♥ Xiang Pian

My favourite tea here for the many years even way before the restaurant changed its name (previously as Fortunate Restaurant). Other selection includes Tie Guan Yin and Pu Er. Compared to these two, Xiang Pian won my favour due to its light and fragrant aroma. Its thin in texture and leaves a refreshing taste in the mouth.

image

♥♥ Preserved Century Egg and Lean Meat Porridge

Its a great way to start off your day with a bowl of porridge. This bowl of porridge is just right in thickness but I feel as a restaurant, they could have done a better job in cooking this. Both me and friend felt our mom’s homecooked porridge tasted better in texture. The crispy bit wasn’t that crispy too. Nevertheless, the adequate amount of preserved century egg and lean meat given in this bowl of porridge made up for its bad points.

image

♥ Sweet & Spicy Braised Chicken Feet

I swear I’ll try not to eat chicken’s feet whenever and where ever I can avoid. This is my first time trying the chicken’s feet and I really get disgusted by the taste of how jelly-like it felt (Akin to eating chicken skin and fats stucked to small joints and mini bones).

image

♥ Salted Egg Custard in Pandan Bun

I love custards, every single kind of custard products, so I have high standards for any foods containing custards. The savoury custard was smooth and was just right in consistency but I wasn’t so impressed by this rendition of putting salted egg custard in a pandan flavoured bun. The custard did not meet with the sweet and somewhat artificial taste of pandan. My good friend also disagrees on this incompatible match. I gave a feedback to the staff about the bun not so good in taste due to the pandan flavour bun and she said this was their special Dim Sum. In our hearts, we were thinking the restaurant should just give up on this special concoction and make it in original plain bun just like good old days. You don’t need new inventions if its good enough on its own.

image

♥ Siew Mai

Nothing fantastic, nothing amazing. Meat wasn’t juicy enough, flavours wasn’t there. Just edible only and I think I will only think of eating this unless I have no other choices.

image

♥ Prawn Dumpling

I know I’m a picky eater but that’s how I keep my palate and stomach satisfied at the same time. The chefs here don’t make good prawn dumplings and I’m not happy about it since this is one of the basics of Dim Sum along with Siew Mai. The skin is broken, not intact. The prawns were not succulent too. So dissappinted :(

image

♥♥ Glutinous Rice wrapped in Lotus Leaf

The restaurant makes this really fragrant, I can smell the lotus leaf aroma on the glutinous rice inside. It was well steamed and not too oily. Not alot of ingredients is found but I guess the flavours found in the sticky rice is good enough.

I ordered another plate of 4 mini egg tarts and a mango sago (without pomelo… reason was they said the pomelo is not in season and tasted too bitter) for each of us.

I was billed $48 in total. Average of $24 per pax based on ala carte Dim Sum menu.

Overall Rating ♥

Opening Hours 8 am to 10.30pm daily

Swatow Restaurant Pte Ltd
Blk 181 Lorong 4 Toa Payoh
#02-602
Singapore 310181
6363 1717
http://www.swatow.com.sg/index.html

4 thoughts on “Swatow Teochew Seafood Restaurant Dim Sum

  1. Wow, superb weblog structure! How long have you ever been running a blog for?

    you make blogging glance easy. The full glance of your website is great,
    let alone the content material!

  2. I drop a leave a response whenever I especially enjoy a
    article on a blog or I have something to add to the conversation.
    It is triggered by the passion displayed in the article I looked
    at. And after this article Swatow Teochew Seafood Restaurant
    Dim Sum | Travel . Eat . Shop. I was excited enough to post a commenta response :-P I
    actually do have a few questions for you if you don’t mind.
    Is it simply me or does it look as if like some of these remarks come across like they are
    left by brain dead visitors? :-P And, if you are writing at additional online sites, I would like to keep up with
    you. Would you list the complete urls of all your shared
    sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

    1. Hi, thanks for the comment! Travel . Eat . Shop is solely website based and all owned by Essa alone. I have no intentions to deter my time into Facebook and other SNS inorder to have more time here. Subscribe to Travel . Eat . Shop on the homepage and you will get a ready updates whenever I have new posts :)

  3. Admiring the persistence you put into your website and detailed
    information you provide. It’s good to come across a blog
    every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date
    rehashed material. Excellent read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m
    adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Leave a comment

